I MADE AN INSANE DISCOVERY (NOT CLICKBAIT)

I was cleaning up the kitchen and it hit me.

Egg cartons from many breakfasts.

6 qt. shoe box totes purchased for the purpose of organization.

IT CAN’T BE

I HAD TO TRY IT

IMG_20170215_143546054.jpg

IT’S JUST AS THE PROPHESY FORETOLD

And then I thought….wait.

WAIT A SECOND. IS IT POSSIBLE?

At this point you either know what I’m thinking and are entirely unimpressed OR you don’t know and think I’ve lost my mind.

 

BUT THIS IS SO EXCITING TO ME.

So here’s the thing: I need to start my garden seedlings soon but I don’t have a greenhouse set up and I am just generally challenged when it comes to growing things, honestly.

I was debating whether I should purchase a…germination box? Propagation tray? WHATEVER THEY’RE CALLED, but also it seems stupid to spend money on a single purpose flimsy plastic box with a flimsy plastic lid. Especially since then I’d have to store it most of the rest of the year.

Hydroponic-Germination-Station-with-Heat-Mat-Seed-Starter-Kit-Seeding-Hydroponic-Propagation-Trays.jpg

THIS THING

A lot of people use strawberry containers and the like but I just…don’t buy stuff that comes in that type of packaging.

SO, I’m going to try out this solution I just happened to think of. The egg carton divots will get filled with dirt and seedlings planted, then I’ll rip them apart and put them straight in the ground when the weather has warmed up. The lid of the tote will keep water from getting EVERYWHERE in my house, and the top will keep in moisture and hopefully create a tiny little greenhouse effect.

IMG_20170215_144053414_HDR.jpg

I may stack them if I get a little crazy.

I can safely fit three on the wide part of my south-facing windowsill which (if all went perfectly) would give me 54 little seedlings.

Yet another project I need to get going!

3 thoughts on “I MADE AN INSANE DISCOVERY (NOT CLICKBAIT)

  1. It’s gonna go sub-par. I mean, it’ll work but it won’t go great. The ultra humid environment from the lid is gonna grow mold fast. When little seedling roots hit the walls of cardboard or peat or egg carton they can’t push through, and it stunts plant growth.When they hit plastic walls, they just turn and keep growing against the smooth surface (which does lead to bound roots, but also bigger, healthier plants overall). And there’s not enough room for them to really stretch their roots out before they hit those walls, so you will have to consider repotting them pretty early. I think newspaper works better because the roots can actually push through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

