Best Reads: January 2016

A quick lineup of my favorite book reads last month!

Thing Explainer: Complicated Stuff in Simple WordsThing Explainer: Complicated Stuff in Simple Words by Randall Munroe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is firstly a humorous book, and an interesting way to look at the sciences with a “layman’s” vocab. Just because they are simple words though, doesn’t mean the explanations will make sense – in some cases the limits make it harder to understand. But I’m a sucker for limited design experiments, and found it fascinating.

 

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: CrushedMs. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

THIS WAS MY FAVORITE SO FAR

 

 

Spinning and Dyeing Yarn: The Home Spinner's Guide to Creating Traditional and Art YarnsSpinning and Dyeing Yarn: The Home Spinner’s Guide to Creating Traditional and Art Yarns by Ashley Martineau
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Greatly inspiring for a new spinner. Lots of gorgeous pictures and techniques to look up tutorials for on YouTube.

 

 

Avatar: The Last Airbender: Smoke and Shadow Part TwoAvatar: The Last Airbender: Smoke and Shadow Part Two by Gene Luen Yang
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

AWWW SNAP, SON

This continues to be one of my favorite series EVER. It’s great how well they capture the look, feel, and characters of the TV show. I LOVE THEM.

Star Wars: Kanan, Vol. 1: The Last PadawanStar Wars: Kanan, Vol. 1: The Last Padawan by Greg Weisman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

AHHHHHHHHHHGGGGGHHHHH!
YOU CAN’T END THE VOLUME LIKE THAT I NEED THE NEXT ONE RIGHT NOW

Great start to this series in my opinion. I believe it ties in with Star Wars: Rebels (the cartoon) as well, since it’s the same character.
View all my reviews

One thought on “Best Reads: January 2016

Leave a Reply

