2016 Resolutions

Oh, resolutions. Every year they seem to lose more of their luster. I used to be the most hardcore about New Years Resolutions, but now I’m rather “MEH” about them.

final_katiegoof

Unless those resolutions are continuing to look dorky in pictures. That resolution I’m ALL about.

THAT BEING SAID, I actually made myself do them this year. I mean, I have no excuse. So why not? However, since I often forget about them straightaway, I set up a mid-year review on my calendar (June 25th) to see how I’m doing and if I have completed or need to change any.

So, without further ado, 2016’s resolutions:

  • Read 50 books (~1 a week).
    • Hopefully I’ll read a lot more than this, but I wanted to set something that should be achievable with approximately an hour a day of reading time. We’ll see how that goes.
  • Pick a passion & pursue it 100%.
    • I mean…I’ve been trying to do this forever, and this isn’t very defined or possibly achievable, but it’s definitely a mantra I at least want to try and keep in mind.
  • Refine the 5 year plan.
    • Back when I was young, ambitious, and organized, I had plans for EVERYTHING. Even NASA might’ve been proud. Last year was the end of my first 5 year plan and this year is the end of my first 10 year plan. Some things have turned out according to plan, others have not. (Actually I have a pretty good track record, which is concerning since I’ve ended up HERE. Jk. But srsly.) ANYWAY, I’m due for new plans. So that’s a thing.
  • Read through the Bible in a year.
    • I haven’t done this in a while so let’s DO THIS! Though we’re doing this plan that has you read Old/New Testament and Psalms/Proverbs all simultaneously. It’s…interesting. I’ve only done it chronologically in a year before.
  • Write love letters weekly.
    • Devin and I aren’t very good at romance. So at least ONE of us is gonna try to make an effort…hahahah. But seriously, I’m really bad at letting Devin know how much I appreciate and love him, so I’m hoping this will help. I used to write letters to him in high school so that either means it was a great or a terrible idea to recreate.
  • Find a mentor in my chosen passion.
    • Ignoring the part about “what is my chosen profession/passion?!” I think this is an important goal. I’ve always tended to be a dumb loner, but I really need accountability and someone to continuously be challenged by to learn and try new things outside of my comfort zone.
  • Attend beekeeping class.
    • I mean, I think I put this on here as I was registering for a beekeeping class (Jan 28th) so I’m not sure if that’s cheating or…
  • Send Devin to blacksmithing class.
    • I decided Devin should learn blacksmithing. Man at Arms was partially responsible. But whatever, forcing others to have New Years Resolutions can be a New Years Resolution, right? ;D
  • Go to the Small Farm Conference.
    • Oh, I was just wondering if I should register for this, but it appears I MUST BECAUSE THE LIST SAYS SO. That clears THAT up!
  • Institute and do the Family, Adventure, Project, Friend weekends monthly.
    • This is possibly the most experimental of the goals, with the idea being that once a month a weekend is dedicated to each of the categories. For example, this weekend is supposed to be “Adventure Weekend.” WE SHALL SEE.
  • Write Compassion kids monthly.
    • Historically, we’ve been really bad about writing our sponsored kids, so this year I want to change that.
  • Pray with Devin daily.
    • *GASP* You don’t already DO that? No, we’re terrible people. I mean, we pray daily, but not TOGETHER. I dunno why. Sometimes it feels weird? Whatever, no excuses. Also we haven’t been very good about this so far, but we’ve definitely seen a ~500% increase in the occurrence weekly. (Don’t judge me for turning this into a statistic. But we all are, so I guess go ahead.)

You can tell that some of these goals are SMARTer than others (specific, measurable, achievable, results-focused, and time- bound), but I DO WHAT I WANT. Seriously though, when I do my mid-year analysis it’ll be interesting to see if I’ve done better or worse on the SMARTer goals. 😉

2 thoughts on “2016 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

